DIRECTOR

Prof. Maria Rita Gismondo holds degrees in Biology and in Medicine and Surgery at University of Catania, as well as a Specialization in Microbiology and Virology.
She is associate Professor of Microbiology since 1987 – first at the’ Institute of Microbiology, Dental School, University of Catania, then at the Faculty of Medicine, University of Milan. Moreover, she is the Director of the Laboratory of Clinical Microbiology, Virology and Bioemergencies (CLIMVIB) at L. Sacco University Hospital since 1995, including the BSL 4 facility which is a national reference laboratory for pandemics and bioterrorism.
 
She has published over 237 scientific papers and she is member of several scientific international societies. Also, she is responsible of the bioemergency plan for L. Sacco University Hospital.
Prof. Gismondo has years of experience in project management at international level.
She has implemented, both as Team Leader and as expert, different projects of the European Commission and United Nations on topics involving bio-threats (biorisk, biosafety, biosecurity, biohazardous waste management). In this framework, she has offered her expertise and she has been involved in activities like training courses, workshops, seminars and field missions as well as laboratory risk assessment, need and gap analysis.

 

LABORATORY EXECUTIVE STAFF

Romualdo
Grande
MD

Coordinator of parasitology and mycology. He is biosafety officer and in charge of both the BSL 3 and BSL 4 laboratories.
romualdo.grande@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Silvia
Grosso
MS, Biologist

Responsible for the Urinary Bacteriology Unit.
silvia.grosso@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Alessandra
Lombardi
PhD, Biologist

Coordinator of mycobacteriology. In charge of Laboratory Quality Management System starting 2011.
alessandra.lombardi@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Margherita
Longo
MD, Biologist

Responsible for the Serology Unit.
margherita.longo.old@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Alessandro
Mancon
MS, Biologist

Research Fellow.
alessandro.mancon@unimi.it

Valeria
Micheli
PhD, Biologist

Adjunct professor at University of Milan starting 2010. Responsible for the molecular diagnosis of viral hepatitis and the study of drug-resistance of HIV, HBV and HCV, as well as HIV tropism.
valeria.micheli@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Davide
Mileto
MS, Biologist

Virology Unit. In charge of Bio Emergencies.
davide.mileto@unimi.it

Cristina
Pagani
MS, Biologist

Batteriology Unit. In charge of Blood Cultures.
cristina.pagani@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Sara Giordana
Rimoldi
MS, Biologist

Adjunct professor at University of Milan starting 2010. Head of bacteriology and hospital-acquired infections starting 2014.
sara.rimoldi@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Nadia
Zanchetta
MD

Head of virology and molecular diagnostics starting 2008.
nadia.zanchetta@asst-fbf-sacco.it

 

 

RESIDENTS

Alessandro
Palazzin
MS, Biologist

Trainee in Specialization School in Clinical Microbiology and Virology.
alessandro.palazzin@unimi.it

Francesca
Romeri
MS, Biologist

Trainee in Specialization School in Clinical Microbiology and Virology.
francesca.romeri@unimi.it

Alkis
Piliafas
MD, Physician

Trainee in Specialization School in Clinical Microbiology and Virology.
alkis.piliafas@unimi.it

Denise
Rizzelli
MD, Physician

Trainee in Specialization School in Clinical Microbiology and Virology.
denise.rizzelli@unimi.it

Roberta
Morlando
BS, Biologist

Master Thesis Intern.
r.morlando@campus.unimib.it

INTERNATIONAL PROJECTS OFFICE

Giovanna
Fotia

Project Manager
fotia@climvib.eu

Mirko
Palestrino

Assistant Project Manager
palestrino@climvib.eu

TECHNICIANS

Enrica Terron, MS, Biomedical Laboratory Technician
enrica.terron@asst-fbf-sacco.it
Coordinator Biomedical Technician in the Laboratory of Clinical Microbiology, Virology and Bioemergencies where he coordinates a team of 14 lab technicians

SUPPORT STAFF

Paola
Razzitti

Secretary.
segreteria.microbiologia@asst-fbf-sacco.it

Agata
Di Paola

Secretary.
agata.dipaola@asst-fbf-sacco.it